U19 Representative Teams

Basketball New Zealand hosts the Under 19 National Championships over Queen's Birthday Weekend every year. Hawke's Bay is in the Central Zone, which can send 2 teams to the National Tournament. Hawke's Bay will send one male and one female team to the Central Zone Qualifying tournament, which is typically a one-day tournament hosted in Palmerston North at a mutually agreed upon day between the Central Zone associations. 

In February of each year, Basketball Hawkes Bay conducts trials for players who wish to be selected for these Under 19 Representative Teams. These are advertised publicly on our website and social media, as well as emailed to our community including schools. Players must be 19 years of age or younger as at 31st December of the year of competition.

In 2021, this is for players born 2002 & 2003.

These teams also attend the Mel Young Easter Classic hosted over the Easter Weekend Holidays in Tauranga each year. Once selected, these teams train twice per week throughout Terms 1 & 2 in preparation for their tournaments. 

U19 2022 Tournament Dates

Mel Young - 15-18 April - Tauranga

Central Zone Qualifiers - TBC

Aon U19 Nationals - 4-7 June - Auckland​​​​​​​